Comparison
Carefull vs EverSafe: which fits your family?
The verdict
Carefull and EverSafe both watch an older adult's money and share alerts with family. Carefull is one plan at $29.99 a month that covers two people and includes identity insurance; EverSafe has tiered plans from $7.49 a month, with credit monitoring and insurance on higher tiers and email scanning as a paid add-on. OwlGuardian is a different kind of tool: it does not watch money at all, it stops scam Gmail before your parent sees it.
OwlGuardian publishes this page and offers one of the three products compared. This is not a hands-on review: we have not used Carefull or EverSafe. Every fact about them comes from each company's own website or official app store listing as of 2026-10-14, listed under Sources. Products and prices change. If anything is wrong or out of date, email [email protected] and we will fix it.
What Carefull and EverSafe is
What they have in common. Both are financial monitoring services built around older adults. Both link to bank and card accounts, look for unusual activity, watch for dark web exposure and real estate title changes, and let family members receive alerts. Carefull calls them Trusted Contacts; EverSafe calls them Trusted Advocates. Both say they cannot move money. Carefull · EverSafe
How the pricing differs. Carefull lists a single price, $29.99 a month, which covers two people and includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance per adult member, with yearly billing saving 17%. Source EverSafe lists three tiers per person: Essentials $7.49, Plus $16.99 and Gold $26.99 a month, with insurance and credit monitoring starting at Plus, about 15% off for yearly billing, and a 10% senior discount. Source For one parent who just needs accounts watched, EverSafe Essentials costs less. For two parents who want insurance, Carefull's two-person plan may compare well against two EverSafe Plus plans. Check current prices before you decide.
How email differs. EverSafe sells email monitoring as an add-on at $5.99 a month per address, using CATCH, which labels emails and says scams are removed from the inbox. Source Carefull's pages describe ScamCheck, where you submit a suspicious text, email, image, voicemail or letter for a verdict, but not automatic inbox screening. Source
How sales differ. Both sell directly to families and also work with financial institutions. Carefull names bank, credit union and wealth partners on its home page. EverSafe's site serves families, financial organizations, and professionals such as advisors and attorneys.
Where OwlGuardian fits. OwlGuardian is not a third money monitor. It is an iPhone app that screens every incoming Gmail message, quarantines suspicious ones before your parent sees them, and lets a Trusted Contact release or keep each one in two taps. It costs $4.99 a month per protected person. Families often pair it with a money monitor.
Side by side.
Feature
Carefull
EverSafe
OwlGuardian
What it monitors
Bank, card and investment accounts, credit files, dark web, property records
Bank, investment, card, trust and retirement accounts, new accounts, real estate, dark web
Every incoming Gmail message
Email screening before the inbox
Not stated (ScamCheck checks messages you submit)
Add-on, $5.99/month per email address
Included. Gmail today, with Outlook and Hotmail in beta
Family role
Trusted Contacts: optional, view-only alerts
Trusted Advocates: receive alerts, no extra cost
Trusted Contact releases or keeps each flagged email
Credit monitoring
Yes, credit file alerts
1 bureau on Plus, 3 bureaus on Gold
No
Identity theft insurance
Up to $1 million per adult member
Up to $1 million on Plus and Gold
No
Message checker
ScamCheck: texts, emails, images, voicemails, mail
Not stated
Call My Owl: screenshots and photos of letters
Platforms
Not stated on pages checked
iPhone app (iOS 13+); Android not stated
iPhone (iOS 18+)
Price
$29.99/month, covers 2 people
$7.49 / $16.99 / $26.99 per month
$4.99/month per protected person
Free trial
30 days
30 days
30 days
Where you get it
Direct, or through banks, credit unions, wealth firms
Direct, or through financial firms and professionals
Apple App Store
Choose Carefull or EverSafe if
- Carefull if you want one plan covering both parents, with identity insurance and home title monitoring included.
- Carefull if your parent's bank or credit union already offers it.
- EverSafe if you want the lowest entry price for account monitoring (Essentials, $7.49 a month).
- EverSafe if you want to add email scanning to the same service, or need power of attorney or guardian support.
- Either if your main worry is money already moving out of accounts.
Choose OwlGuardian if
- The scams are arriving by email and your parent uses Gmail.
- You want suspicious email held back until you approve it, rather than labeled in the inbox.
- Your parent should not see warnings or change how they use Gmail.
- You want a cheap first step: $4.99 a month, 30 days free.
Using both: Carefull or EverSafe watches the money. OwlGuardian stops the scam email that tries to get the money moving. Running one money monitor plus OwlGuardian covers both ends without much overlap.
Questions.
What is the difference between Carefull and EverSafe?
Which is cheaper, Carefull or EverSafe?
Do Carefull or EverSafe monitor email?
Are there Carefull alternatives besides EverSafe?
Can I use OwlGuardian with Carefull or EverSafe?
OwlGuardian
Want scam emails stopped before they're opened?
OwlGuardian quietly checks your parent's Gmail with AI, moves scam emails out of sight, and asks you before anything risky gets through. $4.99/month after a 30-day free trial.
Sources
- Carefull home page: features, pricing and trial (checked 2026-10-13)
- Carefull: Next-Gen Caregiving, Trusted Contacts (checked 2026-10-13)
- Carefull: ScamCheck (checked 2026-10-13)
- EverSafe: What We Do (checked 2026-10-13)
- EverSafe: Pricing (checked 2026-10-13)
- EverSafe: FAQs (checked 2026-10-13)
- EverSafe: CATCH email protection (checked 2026-10-13)
- App Store: EverSafe Fraud & ID Protection (checked 2026-10-13)
- App Store: OwlGuardian: Scam Protection (checked 2026-10-13)
Something out of date? Email [email protected] and we'll correct it. See how we research.
